Z68 Chipset

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndrewK1

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2012
Hello,

I am planning on making my first custom build in the near future. Pardon me if my terminology is incorrect as I'm fairly new to the computer world. I'm planning on using a i5-2500K CPU. The Intel website says that the Z68 Chipset works very well with the Sandy Bridge technology. Is that the most optimal chipset for Sandy Bridge or is there a better one?

Solution
Yes it is great for the Sandy Bridge. It is developed by Intel as well.

What is the Intel Z68 chipset?

Manufacturer Intel

When Intel’s Sandy Bridge range of LGA1155 Core CPUs launched, you had to choose whether you wanted to overclock the CPU or use its integrated Processor Graphics unit (PG) – either you bought a P67 motherboard and overclocked the CPU, or you bought an H67 motherboard and made a more modest PC. However, for months there has been a mythical third option; one that would let you overclock the CPU while enabling its integrated PG: the Z68 chipset.

The benefits of Z68 initially sounded pretty niche – it would be ideal for a PC that sees plenty of work but no gaming (beyond Flash-based games and casual fare). However...
Yes it is great for the Sandy Bridge. It is developed by Intel as well.

What is the Intel Z68 chipset?

Manufacturer Intel

When Intel’s Sandy Bridge range of LGA1155 Core CPUs launched, you had to choose whether you wanted to overclock the CPU or use its integrated Processor Graphics unit (PG) – either you bought a P67 motherboard and overclocked the CPU, or you bought an H67 motherboard and made a more modest PC. However, for months there has been a mythical third option; one that would let you overclock the CPU while enabling its integrated PG: the Z68 chipset.