Trouble with power

minotrr

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2011
Hi, my computer was built between 3 people which includes myself (I'm a novice.) and I will not be able to see those other two people again.

Anyway, I have to turn my computer off always using the switch on the back or the bright lights (its see through) inside and out will not turn off.

Also when I restart my computer 95% of the time, it starts to reboot for a second and fails.

And last but not least... for a few months now when my computer turns on it, it makes horrible noises and the fans sound extremely loud etc, like its struggling, and then when it fully boots its fine..

I really have no idea how to fix this, as I didn't put this part together..

Thanks!

Hello minotrr;

'makes horrible noises' isn't too technical. Can you be more specific? Like... what part is making the noise? You should be able to narrow it down for us.

The 'restart 95% fails' did that start when the system was first built? What does happen after the fail?

minotrr

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2011
I'm not sure but it sounds like crackling, and also the fans speed up extremely, extremely fast, sometimes it sounds like something is stuck in them, but if that were the case it wouldn't quiet down when the OS is loaded.

I'm not positive when the restart failing started, it may have always been there. When it fails to reboot the fans stop but the lights in the computer still stay on, so I have to reswitch the power button on the back of the case

I sort of need a new case since one of the locks for the panel broke off easily.. But its huge.. Like 9 inches wide 2 feet long and 2 feet tall and costly, and believe it or not, theres not much space left in it to add anything else.

minotrr

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2011
In regards to the lights, I didn't realize how bright they can be if you choose to have them. One of the fans has them built in as well as the case, so I'm not sure I can turn them off.

minotrr

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2011