Sign in with
Your question
Closed

How to set up new configuration?

Last response: in Motherboards
January 17, 2012 1:31:13 AM

Hi everyone,

just replaced my ASUS M4N68T-M Motherboard with a ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3 Motherboard alond with replacing the AM3 CPU (965) with an intel CPU (i7 2600k) also replaced 4gb ddr3 1333 ram with 8gb ddr3 1600 ram...
now I was wondering how I go about setting this up? I am a novice btw...
Do I set it up on a new HDD/SSD? and will I be able to get files off of my old HDD? If so thats fine, just advise me on how I would go about this :) 
any feedback would be hugely appreciated.
cheers,
Jesse

More about : set configuration

a c 78 V Motherboard
a b Ĉ ASUS
January 17, 2012 2:53:21 AM

Read your motherboard manual and understand the board's layout. OK, now review it again, pay attention the motherboard layout diagram for the locations of the various pins and sockets.
-- Generally you install the motherboard to the case using the stand-offs and screws to secure the board to the case.
-- Then you install the CPU and the CPU heatsink/fan and attach the fan power connector to the CPU_FAN pins on the motherboard.
-- Install the RAM, aligning the RAM pins to the DIMM sockets
-- Install the SSD, HDDs, and Optical Drive(s) to the case/chassis.
-- Install your other hardware, e.g. GPU, sound, etc.
-- Install the PSU.
-- Attach the 8-pin power lead to the CPU power socket.
-- Attach the 24-pin power cable to the motherboard socket.
-- Connect the PSU's power leads to the SSD/HDD, Optical drive, and the GPU.
-- Attach the case fans to either the CASE_FAN power pins on the motherboard, or to MOLEX connectors, depending on the case fan power lead connectors.
-- Attach the Front Panel Connectors to the motherboard front panel pins (for power, reset, HDD activity, speaker)
-- Attach the Front panel HD speaker to the on-board sound connector on the motherboard.
-- Attach the front panel USB2 cable(s) to the USB2 header(s) on the board.