Closed Solved

How to set up new configuration?

Hi everyone,

just replaced my ASUS M4N68T-M Motherboard with a ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3 Motherboard alond with replacing the AM3 CPU (965) with an intel CPU (i7 2600k) also replaced 4gb ddr3 1333 ram with 8gb ddr3 1600 ram...
now I was wondering how I go about setting this up? I am a novice btw...
Do I set it up on a new HDD/SSD? and will I be able to get files off of my old HDD? If so thats fine, just advise me on how I would go about this :)
any feedback would be hugely appreciated.
cheers,
Jesse
18 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about configuration
  1. Read your motherboard manual and understand the board's layout. OK, now review it again, pay attention the motherboard layout diagram for the locations of the various pins and sockets.
    -- Generally you install the motherboard to the case using the stand-offs and screws to secure the board to the case.
    -- Then you install the CPU and the CPU heatsink/fan and attach the fan power connector to the CPU_FAN pins on the motherboard.
    -- Install the RAM, aligning the RAM pins to the DIMM sockets
    -- Install the SSD, HDDs, and Optical Drive(s) to the case/chassis.
    -- Install your other hardware, e.g. GPU, sound, etc.
    -- Install the PSU.
    -- Attach the 8-pin power lead to the CPU power socket.
    -- Attach the 24-pin power cable to the motherboard socket.
    -- Connect the PSU's power leads to the SSD/HDD, Optical drive, and the GPU.
    -- Attach the case fans to either the CASE_FAN power pins on the motherboard, or to MOLEX connectors, depending on the case fan power lead connectors.
    -- Attach the Front Panel Connectors to the motherboard front panel pins (for power, reset, HDD activity, speaker)
    -- Attach the Front panel HD speaker to the on-board sound connector on the motherboard.
    -- Attach the front panel USB2 cable(s) to the USB2 header(s) on the board.
    -- You are ready to power-on the system at this point.