Is My Graphic card fast enough

Status
Not open for further replies.

swissroll_boy

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2010
Hi guys,

I am new to pc gaming i am trying to play black ops on a laptop online. I am having some freezing issues however i might play 10 rounds strait then all of a sudden game freezes up then i have to open up task manager to close it then i will open it again and might play 3 or 6 or mabey 1 more rounds before it freezes again. Is my laptop just not good enough for gaming or what? here are my specs

Is there anything i can do to boost the performance of my computer?

Windows 7
1TB HD
4GB Ram
AMD Phenom II Trip core N850 @ 2.2GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470

I also have my comp set at high performance but i know nothing about computers anyone have an opinion?

Thanks

Solution

Your "freezes" are not likely from the heat generated by the CPU or GPU (both will run hot when stressed). When they are operating at higher temps, their individual fans will increase in speed to compensate for the additional heat. If you go to an unsafe level, the notebook will automatically clock them down (or will shut down completely).

I suggest you download and install hwmonitor ( www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html ). Get the free version. It will give you a warm and fuzzy of how your system is operating.

BTW, what other games are you playing on this system and how are they performing?
Nice laptop. :) Glad they're finally putting newer generation AMD chips into laptops these days. LOL

The ATI 5470 isn't super impressive, but then again laptops tend to have low resolution screens on them. So you should be able to play the game, however as COLGeek pointed out you'll need/want to lower the graphic detail settings. I'd suggest doing this until things play smoothly for you. Reducing "shadows" in most games helps a TON.