Sign in with
Your question

Computer restarts

Last response: in Systems
February 15, 2011 6:55:35 AM

Ok this might be a newbie question, but I just want to make sure. I just built a computer for gaming, in fact this is my first build period. I started with an intel core i5 2500k with a gigabyte ud3p motherboard and a gtx 480. I have 12 gigs of cosair ram and 1 TB sata hd and a dvd burner. The power supply I bought was the cosair gs 600 watts, so I'm guessing the problem is my power supply. My computer restarts out of nowhere when I play games. If my power supply is insuffienent, what should I get instead? Also I have read about the p67 chipset recall. I read on the gigabyte website that they will have a new fix in April and they say to go to the store where I bought it at for a switch, but when I call Microcenter they tell me I have to contact gigabyte. Anyone else buy any of those motherboards? Thanks for helping

More about : computer restarts

February 15, 2011 9:50:34 AM

If it restarts while your playing games, something may be overheating?
I don't know the specifics of what power supply you would need.
I think most people have encountered this problem at some point, the processor overheating due to a faulty/blocked/removed and thermal paste no reapplied, processor
m
l
February 15, 2011 12:48:22 PM

I agree with NoCanDo, I would check your temps. But it also could very well be your power supply. I would also check to make sure that every is connected properly(all your power connectors). Make sure you have all of the power connectors for your video card connected.
m
l
Related resources
February 15, 2011 12:53:20 PM

I dunno if this will help but, you did mention that you had a gigabyte mobo - they can be kinda finicky when you first set them up especially the newer mobos. I'd give this a read through, it explains towards the middle about Troubleshooting reboots. Very good read.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/275856-30-gigabyte-gu...
m
l