Which motherboard should i buy for the new desktop i'm building?

Imadthemad

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2012
I used to buy complete systems but since i started reading alot about hardware in the past year and grew an interest, i decided my next computer (which i'm buying now) i will be buying part by part.

So in building my new desktop so far this is what i have (bought them and am using them in my current desktop until i buy the new one):
-PSU: Thermaltake Litepower 700W PSU
-VGA: Palit 550Ti 1GB DDR5
I have a SATA I hard disk im gonna drop, and a SATA II hard disk im gonna keep.

This is what i've decided i'm gonna buy:
-SATA 3 750GB hard disk to use as my primary
-Thermaltake case with single easy dock HDD system and a decent cooling system (fans not liquid)
-CPU: Intel i7 2600 CPU 3.4 GHz (i might change my mind and get the 2600k as i read it has overclocking advantages, but im not sure i will ever try overclocking as i've never done so before)

What remains is the RAM and the motherboard

I'm a programmer and i use microsoft visual basic 2008 and 2010 which is a hard memory hogger.

I need to pick my RAM and motherboard from this website (it's the best\cheapest computer hardware store in my country)

http://www.pcandparts.com/price.htm

could use ur advice as im not sure if i'm looking for a H or P or Z board, and whether i should go intel or gigabyte or asus or whatnot.

Also, with DDR3 ram, what is the difference between 1333Mhz and 1600Mhz+? Is the difference significant enough for the price difference because if so i'm willing to splurge on the RAM for a better performing computer.

Thanks in advance for your help!

vitornob

Distinguished
Jun 15, 2008
- Due to high HD prices you should keep as long as possible your old drives.

- I have a Cooler Master 690 II Advanced. Have a nice dock HDD system, have a look at it and see if you like.