Correcting Upgrade Mistake

Status
Not open for further replies.

pphill2

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2012
Thank you in advance for taking the time to address my question.

I own a Dell XPS 8300, recently saw some great deals on monitors and decided to go for a three monitor extended desktop display. Being a novice, I called Dell to ask if my current video card supported three monitors or if I would need to upgrade. I was told I needed an upgrade. One of the video cards which they informed me would work was also running a great sale - the PNY Nvidia Geforce GTX 460. I thanked support, purchased two additional monitors and the GTX 460. Please note that I did not purchase these from Dell. After installing the GTX 460 I unfortuately learned that while it has one HDMI and 2 DVI ports, it will only support two monitors in extended desktop simultaneously. I am now investigating my options for acheiving my three monitor goal (better graphics quality for games is a welcome side effect as I do play games from time to time). You will notice I am asking Tom's Hardware rather than Dell this time...

The first option I considered was simply purchasing another GTX 460 which is at a good price right now and using SLI to run both and be able to use up to 4 monitors in extended display at once. Unfortunately my current motherboard only had one video card slot, I believe called a PCI slot. The case does seem to have room for the back of another video card of this size to stick out.

QUESTION 1: What do I need to do to go the Dual GTX 460 route? I assume I need a new motherboard, new power supply, and an additional GTX card. I would GREATLY appreciate verification of what motherboard options I have, that fit in my case and support this solution as well as power supply upgradges that would work in the configuration as well. This seems like it would be harder to install but would result in a better system overall. I am aware that this would void my Dell Warranty.