Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Alternative for Sandy Beach chips and MOBO for DAW

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 19, 2011 2:32:08 AM

Dear Techies,

I am a midi orchestrator/ film composer. I am building a DAW to run Finale, Garrison Inst, Cue Base and Steinberg programs (I am buying an audio interface like Maudio).

Thanks to your threads and excellent members, I found out that the Sandy Beach I5 and i7 ( 2nd gen) chips which I wanted are not viable for quite a while.That leaves the LGA 1156 OR LGA 1136 SOCKETS to decide on.

Question: Would this be a good component solution...?
Intel I5 760 with
ASUS P7H55M USB3 (MOBO)
A fire wire ( which one ?)
two fast TB HDS (7200) ( which ones ?)
=cool master [POWER 550 or ? )

I have read all of the threads and you have covered some of this very well however I would like a final confirmation from you smart guys and gals out there so I don't blow it.I am open to the 1136 but not many people mention it so I am not feeling confident that it is the right component. Also I live in Thailand and no one seems to know about the sandy beach recall, so I am on my own out here looking for a paddle.

Thank you and please excuse my Computer ignorance in advance...I am just a composer trying to make the right decision...this is my first self built DAW.

a c 116 à CPUs
May 19, 2011 3:05:20 AM

by the sounds of it your a little confused.
its sandy bridge and comes on the chipsets the h67,p67and z68
there all i5 socket 1155 although the 2600k is classed as i7 but still fits

the i5 760 is a socket 1156 wich is ok for the 760 but for pretty much the same price you could have a 2600k and h67 motherboard, you should be able to get 1 in thailand

there is only 1 kind of fire wire and all it is, is a cable between devices. so as long as you buy 2 firewire devices then you can use firewire instead of usb giving faster transfer speeds between the 2