The 4 letter "D" word hassles

G

Hey folks,
Got a problem, partially because I am a novice at best, and partly because "Dell" Refuses to answer a question.
Q1) I have a Dell Inspiron 546 AMD Athlon II X2 240 processor, 8gig (4x2gig) PC6400 ram. I am disabled, and swivled my chair around, snagging and breaking the flip down door off, with my jean material. I want to know if anyone knows if the "Guts" from this case will drop into a replacment "Barebone" type ATX/Small ATX replacment case?
Q2) I was thinking while I was going to swap the hardware over, an upgrade may be in order. I spotted an AMD Athlon II X4 9850 CPU, which uses an AM2 base socket. My question was would my MOBO support a quad core? The retailers tech support said probably, but not certain. Since I want better odds, I called Dell to find out what "Socket type" my processor was, and would my board work. Dell kindly offered an answer, after I paid $75 to renew my phone support....WTH...my warranty expired last month!! So if anyone knows the answer here, shoot me a thread. I am planning to install a CPU cooler to utilize some of the added 300+ Watts of PSU power in the new case, but I'm not a Game'r or speed freak (no offense) I just want to wring out all I can on a budget.
Thanks and as always Kind Regards to all.

Solution
The Phenom 9850 is a 125w parts and not likely to work with your motherboard.
You'de be way better off getting the any of the series 2 cpus (Athlon2, phenom2) just stay 95w and under. You might want to research what processors were officially offered and get one of those. A friend of mine has a athlon2 630 in his, I beleive, and its a decent performer.

popatim

Titan
The Phenom 9850 is a 125w parts and not likely to work with your motherboard.