Newbie considering first time build

elvisruns

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2011
I’m a newbie who is thinking about building first time rather than just buying a desktop to replace a 5 year old (extremely lethargic) Dell laptop at home. I had been searching for a pre-built (Dell, Lenovo, etc) until I started researching CPU’s and found this forum.
I’m small on budget (would like to top out at $400 - but less won't get any complaints) - I don't need a gaming rig, but want something that operates quickly and smoothly, and wasn't finding what I wanted (or what you guys recommended) in a prebuilt system at my pricepoint..

It doesn't help that I've become spoiled at the office with a Xeon CPU (we do a lot of modeling, rendering and graphics - Autocad, Revit, etc), and I really appreciate the speed of the computer, but don't need (and can't utilize) all of those same programs on my home computer. Would tend to use it for mostly basic stuff.

For more detail, I’ve cribbed from alexnharvey’s posting from several days ago:
Approximate Purchase Date: sometime before July 1, 2011

Budget Range: $300-$400

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Streaming audio/video, autocad/photoshop/sketchup, web browsing, office stuff .

Parts Not Required: Building an entire new system so will need monitor and keyboard (already have mouse, and I’ll probably also refer to tecmo’s Recommended Builds By Usage thread for suggestions

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Looking for suggesting, but have browsed newegg before.

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: Would like to try using AMD, and whatever offers some upgradability
Overclocking: No
SLI or Crossfire: Not sure?

Monitor Resolution: not sure