Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Home Server / Bedroom HTPC for small apartment

Last response: in Systems
February 17, 2011 4:32:33 PM

I need to build a small(ish) HTPC and file server for my little apartment. I'm a photographer/videographer and I make massive photoshop constructions that can be up to 30GB for each finished file. Right now I don't have a good storage procedure for these files, and I need to get on that ASAP because they're spread out (with duplicates) over 6 or 7 external drives (some of which are getting fairly old). My girlfriend and I have been using my Hackintosh (see my profile for specs) with dual monitors to watch movies while I work in Photoshop, but it also serves as networked storage for my media collection that streams to an old laptop I hooked up as an HTPC in our living room (roommate's got a nice HDTV). Needless to say, my power-hungry Photoshop machine is basically on 24/7 because we all have different work schedules and are addicted to entertainment. Basically I need something that can run Windows 7 (so less tech savy people can use it to watch movies on in our bedroom), output HDMI (in case I decide in the future to buy an HDTV myself instead of using a monitor), store 5-6 TB of data with some redundancy so I don't lose anything, and try not to use as much power as my 700W monster.

So here's the plan I've tentatively settled on after pouring thru forums, builds, and newegg:

LIAN LI PC-V354B MicroATX case - nice looking with >6 internal 3.5" drive bays

ASUS M4A88TD-M/USB3 Motherboard - 6 SATA 6Gb/s ports, USB 3.0, Built-in video with HDMI, supports RAID 5 on the board

AMD Athlon II X3 445 Rana 3.1GHz

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600