Soundcard for my z5500 Speakers

ReMaKc

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010
Hello everyone i need a new soundcard mostly for gaming and to work properly with surround in games with my z5500 speakers . Im a newbie at sound card and have never bought one but i have been looking at the new soundblaster titanium HD but that one is designed for stereo sound and not 5.1 surround am i right ? Im not sure what to go for :S so much to chose from so i hope u guys can help me out alot appreciated.

ReMaKc

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010
Also i looked at this card Creative X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Champion and it was prety expensive but would it be better for me to get that one instead of the titanoum HD one ? I am willing to pay if this card is better than the titanium hd

For the Z5500's, you should connect via analog. The best cards for multichannel analog right now are:

HT Omega Claro [and Halo/XT varients]
Auzentech Meridian 2G

Other cards are capable, but more geared toward 6.3mm headsets [Auzentech Forte, ASUS Xonar Xense, HT Omega Claro XT], and others are simply replaced by newer model cards [the ASUS Xonar D2(X) is basically replaced by the Auzentech Meridian 2G].

For more budget oriented users, the top options are the ASUS Xonar D1/DX and HT Omega Striker.

ReMaKc

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010
Great reply thank you i will definatly check them out .

If there are any other good cards please let me know ;D

ReMaKc

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2010
Also i checked the store for the cards u recommended but they wasnt there so i have to look in a other store but i also looked at the creative x fi titanium fatality champion and that is not that good soundcard for surround speakers ? it says its designed for games and thats what i want but is it mostly designed for headsets ?

gamerk316 mentions some good cards,personally i wouldn't spend more the $150 on a card for Z5500's.
Canadian prices.
Auzentech X-Fi Forte 7.1 - $140
AuzenTech X-MERIDIAN 7.1 2G - $150
ASUS Xonar Essence STX - $170