Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 - Radeon HD 6870 not working on it - Help!

miqdad

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 - Radeon HD 6870 not working on it - Help!

so the graphics card i read is a PCI-Express card 2.1 but the motherboard I thought should support it as its PCI Express 2.0 & 3.0 so I thought this should be fine I put the power into the graphics card 1x 6pin and slot it into the PCI-E slot and turn on, I go into bios enable PCI-Express you can see the fan on the graphics card moving and everything but the hardware registers, it decets no card the card is PCI-E 2.1 but surely PCI 3.0 works backwards dosent it any hard ware bios updates or anything for this motherboard,

A- Should I send motherboard back ive read alot having issues with it
B- Send Graphics card back again same graphics card having problems registering power colour radeon HD 6870

ps this is my first build everything went fine apart from this graphics card issue

running

i7 2600k intel
Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 Motherboard
Graphics card : Power colour HD Radeon 6870 1GDDR5
SSD 120 gb coasir
PSU Corsair TX 850 Watts
16 gb Ram Corsair

Welcome to Tom's Forum! :)

ref - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z68V_PROGEN3/

Place the GPU in the top (Blue) PCIe slot closest to the CPU. Use the PSU's PCIe 6+2 PCIe lead (not some Molex concoction), and if you can 'see' the BIOS in a post then it's working. In the BIOS Load (Optimized) Defaults and save and exit BIOS.

ANS:
A - Not yet.
B - Not yet.

Yes, PCIe 3.x is 100% backwards compatible with PCIe 2.x.

miqdad

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
whats a molex concoction the graphics card has 2x6pin that can be inserted I put one in as im not crossfiring I think thats what it said on the box ive put it into the bottom 6pin the wire is labeled PCI-E as well do i put the 2 pins in or leave them out thanks for fast reply and thanks for warm welcome!

miqdad

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012