Issue with motherboard

katazuki

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
Okay so guys,

This is my first build and I am having issues with what I presume is a motherboard issue and none of my friends can seem to call anything up, nor does google.

First off specs,

Motherboard: GA-Z68AP-D3

GFX Card: Asus 1GB GeForce GTX 560TI DirectCUII PCI-E

CPU: Intel Sandybridge i5-2500 Core i5 Quad-Core Processor (3.30GHz, 6MB Cache, Socket 1155)

Power: OCZ-ZS650W-UK OCZ ZS Series 650W Power Supply 80+ Plus Bronze

HDD: Samsung Spinpoint HD753LJ 750 GB F1 DT Desktop Class Hard Drive

Okay so basically, my issue is -

I start up the PC and it runs for roughly 20 seconds, the monitor doesn't get any signal from the PC and then it turns off after roughly 20 seconds.

Things I have tried so far:

• [li]Swapping around RAM sticks.[/li]
    [li]Unplugging everything apart from CPU, power & Motherboard[/li]
    [li]Taking GFX card out and letting it run off CPU's[/li]

All of the cables are plugged in correctly as far as I can see.
I tried using the speaker and it bleeps a long(ish) beep over and over, link to sound recording: http://www.mediafire.com/?mjz35tqukuxqmqx

I am compeltely stumped as too what I should do, I hope someone can help me out.

tlmck

Distinguished
From Section 5-3-1 of the Gigabyte manual.

Q: What do the beeps emitted during the POST mean?
A: The following Award BIOS beep code descriptions may help you identify possible computer problems. (For reference only.)
1 short: System boots successfully
2 short: CMOS setting error
1 long, 1 short: Memory or motherboard error
1 long, 2 short: Monitor or graphics card error
1 long, 3 short: Keyboard error
1 long, 9 short: BIOS ROM error
Continuous long beeps: Graphics card not inserted properly
Continuous short beeps: Power error

katazuki

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2012
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport - Memory - 12 GB : 3 x 4 GB - DIMM 240-pin - DDR3 - 1600 MHz / PC3-12800 - CL10 - 1.5 V - unbuffered - non-ECC