Solved

Help deciding between two computers

Tags:
  • Prebuilt
  • Computer
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
February 19, 2011 5:20:16 AM

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum who just bought a computer.

Have you heard about the Intel/Sandy Bridge c200 chipset issue? I probably wouldn't have - except I bought a computer with the issue.

HP seems to be dealing fair, but you have to pull info out of them as to what they're going to do about this.

Anyway, I've got 3 options: 1) a refund; 2) return my computer now for a different model; 3) return my computer in April for a new computer of the same model I bought.

I'm torn between 2) and 3). Either way I'm getting a new computer; it's a question of which computer I should get.

Basically, HP said I could choose from any of several computers. The top one - and the one I'd choose - is an HPE-590t. The one I've now got is an HPE-570t.

Here's the basic specs of each:

HPE-570t:
i7-2600 (not the 'k').
1.5TB HD
8GB RAM

HPE-590t:i7-970
1.5TB HD
9GB RAM
Blu Ray burning capability.

Here's the fuller specs:

HP Pavilion Elite HPE-590t series
Supercharged, high-performance PC with Intel six-core processor, massive memory and hard drive, 1GB discrete graphics, Blu-ray and a 2 year warranty. Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-970 six-core [3.2GHz, 1.5MB L2 + 12MB shared L3 cache]
9GB DDR3-1066MHz SDRAM [6 DIMMs]
FREE UPGRADE! 1.5TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 1TB
1GB DDR3 AMD Radeon HD 6570 [DVI, HDMI. VGA adapter]
Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
2-year In-Home limited hardware warranty

------------------------------------------------------

HP Pavilion Elite HPE-570t PC
• Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
• Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 quad-core processor with Turbo-Boost [up to 3.8GHz, 8MB cache]
• 8GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs]
• FREE UPGRADE! 1.5TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 750GB
• No additional office software
• Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 - 15 month