Highpitched noise from motherboard usb2 ports

Status
Not open for further replies.

total noob

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Hello,

There is a faint high pitched noise emanating from the usb2 ports of my gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 motherboard. I know the noise is from these ports because it occurs when i connect any peripheral to them, and disappears when I disconnect the peripheral. Additionally, no noise occurs when i connect peripherals to the usb3 ports. I have found this post; http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/297017-12-high-pitched-noise-ports-help, but am not sure how to do what it says in my bios, and am worried about causing long term harm to my computer. Any insights from the community would be much appreciated.

My specs are:

i5 2500K
2 x 4gb corsair vengeance 1600
corsair tx v2 650W PSU
WD 500gb caviar blue HDD

Solution
Don't worry the PC is not going to be harmed in the long run.
Here is how you go about it.
Boot the rig, get into the BIOS.
- Go into MB Intelligent Tweaker (MIT)
- In that menu goto Advanced Frequency Settings
- In that menu goto Advanced CPU Core Features
Look down in that section you will see CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) and just below it C3/C6 State Support.
Disable both of them.

Press F10 to Save and Exit the BIOS.
Let the rig boot into windows and see if you get that sound from the USB again.
Confirm and let us know.

Don't worry the PC is not going to be harmed in the long run.
Here is how you go about it.
Boot the rig, get into the BIOS.
- Go into MB Intelligent Tweaker (MIT)
- In that menu goto Advanced Frequency Settings
- In that menu goto Advanced CPU Core Features
Look down in that section you will see CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) and just below it C3/C6 State Support.
Disable both of them.

Press F10 to Save and Exit the BIOS.
Let the rig boot into windows and see if you get that sound from the USB again.
Confirm and let us know.

Solution

total noob

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your response.