Sign in with
Your question

Bootloop... Motherboard Issue? (Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3)

Last response: in Motherboards
January 22, 2012 5:53:09 AM

Hello. I am new to building computers, and built my first rig about a week ago. I installed windows today, and rebooted after installing updates. Upon restart, the computer turns on for 2-3 seconds, and shuts of for 5. This cycle repeats indefinitely. Here is my build -

Intel Core i5 2500k Processor
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 Motherboard
Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 Graphics Card
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W PSU
Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4) RAM
Western Digital Caviar Black 1tb Hard Drive

The computer was working 100% - everything fine. I've tried a lot already, taken out the CMOS battery, stripped the components to the bare. Nothing seems to work. Just want some help - wondering if it's a motherboard problem (the infamous Gigabyte Z68 "bootloop") or possible the PSU/Processor/RAM.

When I turn the machine on, the fans start, the lights on the motherboard turn on, the heat sink starts up, and almost immediately shuts down (2 seconds). I cannot access the BIOS, as when attached to a monitor - doesn't show anything. I really need some help with this, I have tried so much. Wondering if it's a motherboard issue, and I should just return it/buy a new one.
a c 328 V Motherboard
January 22, 2012 6:08:28 AM

Try to boot with only 1 RAM stick.
January 22, 2012 6:13:53 AM

nikorr said:
Try to boot with only 1 RAM stick.

Thanks - didn't work. Still nothing.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a c 328 V Motherboard
January 22, 2012 6:15:06 AM

Try the RAM stick in different slots and than try another one.
a c 328 V Motherboard
January 22, 2012 6:21:27 AM

Can u get into safe mode?
January 22, 2012 6:24:14 AM

nikorr said:
Try the RAM stick in different slots and than try another one.

Thanks again. Tried all 4 in all 4 slots - didn't work.
January 22, 2012 6:25:06 AM

nikorr said:
Can u get into safe mode?