Sign in with
Your question

How to figure out positive negative dc to dc converter

Last response: in Components
May 22, 2011 5:38:33 PM

Hello,
I have a dc to dc converter for a computer. the unit uses 12VDC and put out 12/5 VDC. the coverter has no markings and none of the pins have continuity with the metal chasis.

can i determine the pos neg inputs using a digital multimeter?
a b ) Power supply
May 22, 2011 6:44:26 PM

most decent multimeters will let you know if the polarity is reversed

you do need a ground to check against the hots

usually a black wire is a negative
you should have a black on each output

does is have white molex plastic 4 pin or black sata connectors?

if it 4 pin molex that is easy

(warning-disclaimer- I have 3 years of high school vocational AC/DC classes
and trained at Lincoln Technical for HVAC- I AM NOT an electrical engineer :)  )
m
l
May 22, 2011 6:59:45 PM

unfortunately this is a propiatary PSU. It is from a company called DATA911. the model is 7647 and it has a sigle molex connector with 16 pins. out of all the connectors three of them show zero ohms(I assume those are grounds). I have a Fluke 77/bn and it does show positive and neg resistance. Without a diagram can I find out which are the pos neg 12v input?

Thanks for the help
m
l
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
May 22, 2011 8:02:42 PM

chiefaponte said:
unfortunately this is a propiatary PSU. It is from a company called DATA911. the model is 7647 and it has a sigle molex connector with 16 pins. out of all the connectors three of them show zero ohms(I assume those are grounds). I have a Fluke 77/bn and it does show positive and neg resistance. Without a diagram can I find out which are the pos neg 12v input?

Thanks for the help

a ground to chassis would have minimal resistance
measure voltage across the other wires to the ones that are thought to be grounds
you want to set meter to VDC and range to 20v
use black probe to ground
red probe to possible hots