Quad core showing Dual core

bgwhite11

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2010
After switching out my E7200 for a Q9300, my PC saw only two cores and 1 set of L2 cache. I have been using it as is for about 6 months without serious problems. Is it possible that two cores(and cache) were fried? Or is it simpler than that?

CPU-Z sees it as a Q9300, just with half of the resources of a Q9300.

check with your motherboard manufacturer and see if you need a bios update to.
then do as jbakerlent says.
also open task manager, under performance you should see 4 bars if the cpu is working properly and recognized by the o.s and bios as a core 2 quad.
the Q9300 does not have hyper threading so you wont see any virtual cores.

G

The problem is your operating system which don't properly handle hardware changes as CPU, if you had run a Unix or Linux, you would have got the CPU information updated automatically.

dread_cthulhu

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2010

My advice would be to check the BIOS as well, if 2 cores are not showing there, then your chip may be defective. Also, if you're using any built-in core unlockers, I've heard of them having issues occasionally as well.

bgwhite11

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2010
I think I found the problem.

Now my system doesn't boot up at all(if it does and I get lucky, it freezes on "Starting Windows.

One of the transistors(unsure of actual name) is gone. I can see the leads for it, but the "black box" is gone:

IMG00162-20110525-1924.jpg
[/img]

That may not be the problem. Those traces may be empty on an Q9300.

bgwhite11

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2010