Sign in with
Your question

Small Business Server build help

Last response: in Systems
February 21, 2011 7:17:02 PM

Hey guys, I'm completely new to servers so I could use some help/advice when it comes to this build. I'm planning on buying a pre-built server for a family member's business. It will be mainly used for file and printer sharing, accounting server, inventory server (uses sql 2005). Long term that may expand to other server applications but I don't anticipate us hosting our website or an exchange server. About 6 clients PCs all running Win7 although a few more (2-3) may be added in the future.

Business: Small Business - Industrial Manufacturing

Users: 6-8 Users In-House (all Win7), 1-2 Remote Users

Main Usage: File Storage (Basic Office Docs, Photos), Printer Server, Accounting System, Inventory System (uses
SQL 2005)

Other: Server may be used to connect remotely when out of the office (file access) and for remote management

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I'm ready to buy today or anytime after that.

BUDGET RANGE: $1000 Max (excluding OS)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: File-Sharing, Accounting, Inventory, Photo-Sharing, Remote Access

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Dell.com, HP.com

PARTS PREFERENCES: by brand or type: Mostly open to anything

OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: N/A

I have access to a cheap license for Windows Server 2008R2 so I thought that would be a good choice for the OS. Doing some research I came across the Dell Poweredge T110 (http://configure.us.dell.com/dells [...] 1137-194r0) which happens to be quite cheap right now so I'm wondering people's thoughts on it. Is it overkill for what I'm doing or not powerful enough?