Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Should we expect computer prices to drop once BD is released?

Last response: in CPUs
May 23, 2011 6:04:08 PM

This question has some overlap with the Laptop forum, so pardon me if it's more suited for that forum section.

I'm a bit of a rookie to the cpu landscape, but I've been doing a lot of research in preparation to buy a new laptop and retire my struggling Dell Inspiron 6400.

I'm pretty interested in buying a laptop with an i7-xxxx processor as I'm hoping to "future proof" my laptop as much as possible while also making sure my laptop can handle a load of heavy multitasking (photoshop, illustrator, big excel files, etc) with some moderate gaming use too (mostly strategy games like SC2, Civ games, etc).

My only hesitation is that with the impending release of Bulldozer processors, would it be wise to delay my purchase until BD is released in hopes that Intel and AMD will start cutting prices as a result of competition between the 2 processors?

The other thing is that I'd only be willing to wait so long, as my current laptop is struggling to handle most of the heavier tasks I need it to do, and these slow downs are really beginning to wear on my patience. I heard Bulldozer is supposed to hit the markets anytime between mid June and late July--is this still the consensus?

Thanks everyone!
a c 149 à CPUs
a b D Laptop
May 23, 2011 6:15:01 PM

Waiting on BD (or insert any "next big tech") can be fruitless in the end. Also, assuming that BD's launch will significantly reduce the prices of the current generation of tech may be wishful thinking as well.

Will the release of BD change the pricing landscape? Maybe, but with hardware profit margins already pretty low, I wouldn't expect massive reductions (a few percentage price drop, but nothing dramatic).

So, my recommendation is this. Develop a budget to include everything you think you need (hardware and software) and then buy what best fits your requirements now.
m
l