Not enough space to copy pci option rom... :(

lpallard

Distinguished
May 28, 2010
Hey there community!

SO I have a MSI K9N Platinum mobo in my Linux server and this mobo has 6 SATA ports, but not having enough ports, I purchased a Vantec 6 ports (4 SATA2 & 2 eSATA) (UGT-ST310R) PCI expansion card and I have been using it for about 6 months without a single glitch. Works flawlessly..

Now I exhausted the 4 ports on the card and purchased a second identical card. There are 3 PCI slots on the mobo. I installed the second card on the second PCI slot, and upon booting I get the error message

Code:
Not enough space to copy PCI option ROM [01:01:00]

So I have googled a bit, nothing similar to me, i.e., people are discussing about all kind of reasons and explanations, and the consensus is to deactivate the on-board SATA controller (d'ah?!?) which would be totally useless for me..

This machine has only a PCIE video card, nothing else (except the 2 SATA expansion cards..)

Anybody has suggestions? AFAIK, the BIOS revision is the latest.. This mobo is a few years old after all. Maybe purchasing a new mobo is the way to go??

Thanks!

lpallard

Distinguished
May 28, 2010
Hey! the machine currently has 10 SATA drives. (6 onboard and the first expansion card has 4 ports)

I am using Slackware 13.1.. The system has 3.5GB of RAM.

I have somehow discovered reading forum posts that it would have something to do with boot-ability of the SATA controllers but I dont know how to deactivate the bootability of the expansion cards to use them only as a simple SATA controller, or would it help at all?

COLGeek

Cybernaut
Are you running a 32-bit or 64-bit distro? You have a lot of devices there for the system to have to initialize and that takes memory resources. Disabling the "boot-ability" of the expansion cards may help (I agree). Disabling any unused on-board devices (sound, firewire, serial and parallel ports) may help free up system resources as well.

lpallard

Distinguished