Sign in with
Your question

Help with Config

Last response: in Systems
February 22, 2011 6:25:21 PM

Hey Guys, this is my first custom build.

I do alot of high end graphics and video but need a system for at home and games

My current build/ list of components is

G.Skill Ripjaws 12gb (3x4) 1600mhz
I7 2600K which i hope to OC to 5Ghz
NHD14
120 OCZ SSD
2x 1tb 7200 Seagate barracudas
1000W Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold PSU
Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7
Silverstone Fortress FT02B Black
Bluray RD/WR
2x MSI GTX570's SLI

Is my current set all good to go, or is there anyway i can save money ie. Change 1000w psu to 850? Is that ram speed overkill?
Also, its hard to sort of guess without having the chip but what are the chances of hitting 5ghz on a retail chip?

Thanks guys.

More about : config

February 22, 2011 6:57:44 PM

I am fairly new to upgrading, but from what i have read (if I read it right) a mobo thats setup for dual channel ram gets better performance from having 2 dimm's installed rather than 1, 3, or 4 also are you planning heavy multitasking? could drop down to 8 or even 4 gb ram if not.

I dont have any experience OC'ing but I can tell you if you hit your goal of 5 Ghz your going to need a minimum of around 850W PSU according to the psu calc
February 22, 2011 7:29:44 PM

Correct, you'll need to buy RAM in multiples of 2 because the Sandy Bridge CPUs run RAM in dual channel mode. I would advise getting 8GB of RAM given current prices.

Also, an 850W PSU would be good enough for your needs. 1000W is overkill. Some high quality 850W PSUs include the Corsair 850HX, XFX 850W Black Edition, and Corsair CP850, although that last PSU only fits certain cases.

From what I've heard a 4.5GHz overclock is quite likely, but your odds start dropping off fairly quickly the closer you get to 5GHz. It's still pretty do able, but you have to start upping the voltage a fair amount to get to 5GHz. Other people who have firsthand experience with SB CPUs can give more insight.