sulbien

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2010
Hey guys I've never built my own computer before but I've done some upgrades to them and I was wondering how difficult it actually is to do the whole home build project. Things I've done are add network card, replace video card, upgrade ram and upgrade dvd burner. Do you think i'd have a hard time building my own with this knowledge and a little help? :) Like many on here I'm looking to upgrade my computer for starcraft 2 because even on the lowest settings I can't play in any game that isnt a 1v1 due to lag issues. Here is my template:

Approximate Purchase Date: This month or next

Budget Range:~500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, surfing the internet, possibly using some CAD software such as solidworks

Parts Not Required: Im willing to take any parts out of my current system that can be reused. Parts:
Monitor: Using a dynex 720p tv at the moment using the internal speakers or a headset for sound
Keyboard: Cheap Dynex one(is it worth upgrading?)
Mouse: Razer lachesis
Memory: 4 1gb 240-pin DIMM DDR II (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146526) I believe 2 these ram and the other 2 are the original dell.
Video Card:GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit GDDR2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150322)
I don't know about the rest of the parts but if anyone knows a good way to look them up they are the standard parts that came with a dell dimension 8400 series.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any site I will use. I've bought from newegg in the past

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: Anything that you recommend :)

Overclocking: I've never overclocked before but I would be willing to if you recommend it and guide me.

SLI or Crossfire: I dont know enough to answer this so maybe

Monitor Resolution: I'm not certain the resolutions but looking up a dynex tv it says the max resolution is 1366 x 768. Would it be better off to use a monitor?