Sign in with
Your question
Closed

5770 crashing and driver issue. Will no longer boot correctly.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 21, 2010 6:37:40 PM

Specs:

AMD Phenom 2 x4 965
Gygabye MB
ATI 5770 Sapphire 1GB
4g DDR3 GSkill Ram
Windows 7 64 bit

Issue:

I built this PC last march with no issues and it worked flawlessly until I started playing the game "All Points Bulletin". I would be able to play the game for up to 30 minutes to an hour and would crash like clockwork. I had tried reinstalling drivers, and formatting but it never fixed the issue. I stopped playing it months ago, but now the problem has started with other games (Team Fortress 2, Left 4 Dead 2, ect.). I formated again last night and now I am unable to successfully install my drivers. The Windows 7 install took a long time with some parts of the install hanging in limbo before finally going to the next step. When I finally got to my desktop and installed the GPU drivers, my screen did not flicker and change resolution after the drivers installed. Instead I rebooted and couldn't make it to the desktop. All I saw was the windows wallpaper and the explorer was not working correctly. I could right click on the backround, but had nothing else. I restarted again, and now I only get black screens, but can hear sound. I reseated the video card and the drivers worked for a little bit, but after an hour two i'm back where I started and have to uninstall the drivers to get to the desktop.

My instinct tells me that video card is in a state of failure with the memory being the problem. I'm hoping maybe someone else has had this issue and maybe there is something I can do to fix this problem. Any help would be appreciated.

Best solution

December 21, 2010 7:18:47 PM