Status
Not open for further replies.

cull501

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2011
Ok so this is my first time asking something like this I do builds and overclocking but have been out for about 2 years on current technology. I have this in mind for a new build and want to know if it will work. Thanks in advance for the help.

Case- Corsair CC800DW
MOBO- ASUS P6X58D-E
CPU- Intel i7 980x (hopefully OC'ed to 4.0 GHz)
cpu cooling- Noctua NH-U12P SE 2 CPU Cooler
RAM- 12Gb Corsair TR3X6G1333C9 1333MHz
PSU- Corsair Professional Series Gold High Performance 1200-Watt
GPU- 2x EVGA 580gtx superclocked in sli
physics card- EVGA GeForce GTX460
HDD1- HITACHI Deskstar 7K3000
HDD2- Seagate Barracuda 7200.8
Optical drives - 2 DVD burners and a Blu-ray burner
OS- windows 7 professional

So i guess my question for this build is will the 460 gtx work as the physics card while my sli cards do the video? Also will the air cooling be able to cool the 980x at 4 Ghz ive seen people get it to 4.2 on air. Any other comments will help too as i said im getting back into building rigs again.

Solution
Ugly. Extremely ugly. I mean absolutely horrible.

First, the LGA1366 socket is dead. The Sandy Bridge CPUs absolutely destroy everything that comes before. The i7-2600K ($330) actually matches or beats the i7-980X ($1,000) across the board. Once you overclock it (it can reach 5.0 GHz on air easily), it far surpassed the i7-980X. Couple that with the fact that the LGA1155 boards will be a lot cheaper (around $100 less) and won't require triple channel RAM, and you'll have saved around $850-900 and gotten better performance. Of course, you'll need to wait a month or so for them to be re-released, but that shouldn't be an issue.

Second, those HDDs are just plain horrible. They're ancient. Instead, pick up the Samsung Spinpoint...
Ugly. Extremely ugly. I mean absolutely horrible.