Sign in with
Your question

PSU Advice and beginner upgrades all help is appreciated!!

Last response: in Components
May 27, 2011 5:34:02 AM

Ok to start with I have a gateway 507GR has a Intel Pentium 4 Processor 530. Intel 915G chipset, intel graphics media accelerator 900. 200 GB SATA 7200 rpm hd, 512 mb ddr.

Ok so I am very new to this and what I mentioned above I do not know a lot about that's why all help is appreciated and I'm just trying to not look dumb here.
So let's get started I have not upgraded anything as of yet on it and yea it is a fairly old computer and I'm sure its nowhere near up to date.

First thing I'm pretty sure my psu is dead because I can plug my powercord in and the light indicator below it dosent come on but for a split second if I wiggle it and the fan spins slightly but all goes away and the front button to cut it on does not cut I on I've tried a new powercord I know that's not it. It's been actually acting funny for a couple of weeks by I would cut it on and a black screen would POP up with a lot of writing saying the system has just recovered from a serious something start windows normally or from last best known settings I tried both it would just cut back off then back on and do the same thing for about 10 minutes then finally it would just cut back on.
Does it sound like I need a new psu?

Also as I try to fix that problem id like to do a little upgrading to I do have a budget of 60$ for a psu and to upgrade it. Id like to do at least one hopefully both and get a psu staying in budget I do play some web browser games (runescape) I know lol but the upgrades I'm thinking of are upgrading ram currently 512 mb with a mobo capacity of 2gb. My other option I was looking at was a video card would really like to get both upgrades and psu if possible but the psu is the main objective like to at least get one upgrade the video card slot is pci express 1x16 card.