Salvaging old parts for HTPC. Need advice!

w0okie

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
Hi all,

I have never built PCs before, so I am a bit of a n00b(please bear with me). I have a 2 year old HP Pavillion a6535c desktop. I want to salvage a few old parts from this computer but I need some good advice. This will be strictly a HTPC, primarily used for media(Bluray, MKV, DVD, AVI), and possibly TV.

Here is some background information:

Approximate Purchase Date:Until May 2011

Budget/Parts Preferences: Economic but open to opinions.

System Usage: HTPC. Strictly for media(Bluray, MKV, DVD, AVI), and possibly TV.

Preferred Websites: Anything as long as its Canadian. I.E. newegg.ca, ncix.com, and etc

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: I have a 32 Inch Sony Bravia. HDMI. 720p ?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parts that I have:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40 GHz (Socket 775 LGA)

Motherboard: This is the confusing part for me. When I run CPU-Z it says (Manufacturer: Pegatron Corp; Model: Benicia; Chipset P35/G33/G31)

But the manufacterer website says: Asus IPIBL-LB and Benicia-GL8E with form factor: Micro-ATX: 24.5 cm (9.6 inches) x 24.5 cm (9.6 inches)

Here is the website: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c01324212

RAM: 6GB DDR2 (Dual Channel)

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GS (512 MB)

HDD: 500GB SATA 7200 RPM 3.0 Gb/sec

PSU: 300W

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parts I would like:

- Bluray COMBO drive

- Do I need a new mobo and PSU ?

- Small casing

- Remote (IR receiver)

- Possibly a tv tuner that I can hook up to my PVR.

- Can you suggest a good HTPC software for my use?

Thank you for your help!

Welcome to the Tom's HTPC crowd.