Understanding Professional Review PSU Ratings

flong

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
Hello:

Recently on a thread I got into a discussion on PSU requirements and several power consumption graphs were posted from professional reviews. One of the graph statisticss was for power consumption when running crysis. It showed 777W on the graph.

One comment was made that "at the socket" the actual power draw was 640W which does not make sense to me but I am not an electrical engineer.

In general, I would like to understand when I see a power usage graph from a professional review, what is the actual demand on the PSU if we use the information from the graph. In this example, if 777W was what was listed for the I-7 920 system what wattage would the PSU have to put out to make that wattage and still deal with the inefficiencies of the system?

I hope that my question is clear enough. I would like to better understand the professional reviews and what the actual power requirements for a PSU are. For example, if the PSU is 90% efficient, doesn't that mean it has to put out 111.11W to supply 100W to the system? So to supply 777W for Crysis (SLI 580 system) wouldn't the PSU have to put out 777/.9 = 864 W?

Thanks

You are correct in your assumption about efficiency and power requirements. The power from the socket/outlet is always going to be higher than what's required by your components. The efficiency of the power supply will determine the overhead. The review, as you're described, doesn't make sense.

Based on my own experience, I have an i7-960 and a 580 SLI setup. My system never requires more than 800W from the wall and I have a Corsair 950tx that is 8x% efficient. That's with the 580s running in the high 90% utilization range during BFBC2.

flong

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010