Sign in with
Your question

EVGA GeForce 450 Issue

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 27, 2010 2:43:50 AM

ok so I just got all the components for a new PC build for my brother for xmas. Spend the last 2 hours hooking everything up and it looks good so far. Everything powers up, all the fans spin, but I can't get any signal on the monitor. I have a EVGA GeForce 450 card in the rig, and even the fan spins up, but I get nothing. It has a DVI-I output and came with a DVI-to-VGA adapter but that didnt help.

The monitor is an ASUS 20" with DVI-D inputs and a VGA input. My sisters laptop hooks up fine with a VGA cable and I get a great picture, but nothing with the new PC. Could it be the DVI-I outputs? This is my first PC build also, so I am kind of new to all this

More about : evga geforce 450 issue

December 27, 2010 3:00:58 AM

ok just a little update, I used my sisters new Vizio tv with VGA input to see if i could make it work. Nothing, but her laptop works on it. At this point I feel like it may be a faulty video card, so I am thinking about RMA'ing it back to newegg in hopes a new one works. But again, I dont know a lot about this so I may have just screwed up the installation.

edit - ok just opened up the pc and looked around. Apparently my brother didn't get the power supply fully plugged into the mobo so I tried to fix that assuming it must be the problem. I can't get the connection to fully fit either. Idk how to really explain it, but it just doesnt fit all the way in. It stops like a millimeter short of being plugged in and I cant force it the rest of the way. All the other connections slide in easily but not this one, i honestly feel like I'll break the mobo if I push any harder. any idea on why this might be?
a b Î Nvidia
December 27, 2010 3:28:10 AM

Slightly bent pin? It should click into place.
Related resources
December 27, 2010 3:48:32 AM

4745454b said:
Slightly bent pin? It should click into place.