New To PC Gaming with questions on how to build a Desktop? Please Help

i2skinny4u

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2011
Hello everyone on Tomshardware! :hello:

I recently posted a question on yahoo on which prebuilt computers were the best. The majority of answers I got
was to build one myself and recommended me to this forum as the community here is very helpful. :)

As the title states I'm new to PC gaming. I've been running all my games thus far on a Macbook Pro with Bootcamp. It is
alright but not really cutting it anymore. :sweat:

So now I'm leaning on the side of building one myself. But I have absolutely no idea what I need or how to put it together. I'm a little
scared at building one for myself for if something goes wrong... It wouldn't have a warranty through say Alienware or some other prebuilt manufacturer. Any pros and cons on this? Do they charge you an arm and a leg if I have a computer store build it for me?

I'm looking to run games like Crysis 2 and Total War Shogun 2 when they are released later this month. Games that I have now are Civilization 5 (low settings), and Dead Space 2 (high settings but doesn't look better then the PS3 version). I was originally looking into a laptop since I don't have a lot of room for a desktop and that I usually find it to be more comfortable to play games sitting in the recliner/bed. But heard they were bad? Sorry that my post is so long but there is a lot I don't know and I hope the community here can really answer my questions in detail as I'm a newbie (did look at tutorials but hardware was usually outdated and I'm not sure what "will" run these games in high- very high settings if possible). I'm looking to keep it at 1 k if not just a bit above that of course always lower is great if possible. I know of a local CompUSA. Would they have everything I need there? And do they price match from other websites?