PSU upgrade for HTPC

Status
Not open for further replies.

scuzzy1

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2010
Hi,

My HTPC (E5200, ITX mobo, 120W Pico PSU) build is only about two years old now, but it's starting to feel long in the tooth. My biggest problem right now is that I'd like to add another HDD (and an SSD sometime in the future) and a Blu-ray burner to the system, but there just aren't enough power connectors on the Pico and there probably isn't enough power either. So, I'm looking for a PSU upgrade.

When I do a rebuild (hopefully at least another year) with the upgrades above, I'd like to move up to an i3 Sandy Bridge and a mid range graphics card (something like a 460GTX) so I'm thinking I don't need anything more than a 400-500W PSU. I've looked at the following PSUs:

OCZ ModXstreme 500W
Antec BP550 Plus 550W
Seasonic M12II 520c

I know Seasonic is a quality PSU brand, but I have no experience with OCZ and Antec PSUs. I can't believe that there aren't more options for 500W modular PSUs. Are there any PSUs I'm missing? Any other suggestions? Thanks for the help.

Solution
If you can afford the Seasonic model then you should not even bother with either of that Antec and OCZ model.. However, for the price of that particular Seasonic unit, you can get yourself the XFX 650W XXX Edition PSU.. It is basically a Seasonic unit, is modular and though overkill for your current and future needs, is a solid investment..
If you can afford the Seasonic model then you should not even bother with either of that Antec and OCZ model.. However, for the price of that particular Seasonic unit, you can get yourself the XFX 650W XXX Edition PSU.. It is basically a Seasonic unit, is modular and though overkill for your current and future needs, is a solid investment..

Solution