Need some help on 700$ ish build

vhunter

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2010
I don't know too much about choosing parts and compatibility of such parts so I ask (beg) anyone to recommend me a decent build.

Approximate Purchase Date: This weekend hopefully.

Budget Range: Around 700$ before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, music production (Fl studio)

Parts Not Required: Only need the box, no OS nor monitor necessary.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Microcenter.com, I live really close to one, and there's 20% off computer parts.

Country of Origin: U.S.

Parts Preferences: Motherboard with two pcie x16 slots

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Yes, in the future

Monitor Resolution: 1440x900,

Additional Comments: This is my First build so I'm a bit lost here. I was thinking of waiting for sandy bride but I don't think I can wait, any comments on this? I really haven't decided between a gtx 460 or a HD 6850, mostly because I don't know the differences. All help is appreciated.

no, in performance a 6850 and 460 are basically identical (460 is better in some games, 6850 in others, but only a few fps difference either way)

the 6850 uses less power to get this result (indeed, it uses just 1 6-pin PCIe power cable, compared to two 6-pins for the 460)

Hmm this would be a tad overkill but i went with native SATA 6GB/s mobo and USB 3.0 via Marvell controller and hold out for the new SATA 6GB/s Sandforce SSDs to hit retailers :p

965BE + MSI 870A-G54 $190
http://www.microcenter.com/specials/promotions/AMDbundlePROMO.html

Items Off Egg
$363AR
Untitled-1436.jpg

$553AR in total

vhunter

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2010
@batuchka: Do you think I can find the equivalent of these items in microcenter.com,
@flyboy86: so I cannot use those video cards with my current monitor?
@ScrewySqrl: So maybe Ill go with the 6850 because of the Morphological Anti-Aliasing

vhunter

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2010