Sign in with
Your question

Black screen after latest Driver Update

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 28, 2010 7:20:53 PM

Mike here. I have encountered a persistent black screen problem after downloading and installing ATI Radion HD 3200 driver update v. 10.12 dated 12-13-2010. I was updating from what was probably it's earliest driver, v. 8.5.31.00 dated 8-29-2008. The screen went black. I tried to reboot. I CANNOT EVEN REBOOT NOW, (noteven in Safe Mode, much less an ordinary reboot from the computer power button). Maybe I'm not doing the latter right. I push the button and hold down the F8 button. >>black screen. I tried again tapping the F8 button. >>black screen. I'm not a novice either, but I'm stumped. I'm using Vista, 64 bit operating system on a Gateway DX4200 desktop that uses an AMD Phenom X4 64 chip. It was running nicely until I installed the updated driver.

Any ideas?

Thank you, --mike Reston, VA

Add a reply
Revove from the list of quoted messages Add to the list of quoted messages Quick edit Edit this message
December 28, 2010 7:32:12 PM

MORE INPUT ON PROBLEM:

1. First, after 12 hours with POWER OFF, the machine rebooted normally and Device Manager shows that the old existing HD 3200 driver is still in place. The update did not take.

2. Is misstated the old existing driver version. It is 8.531.0.0, 8/29/2008, ATI Technologies.

Any advice re. updating from that?

Thanks, --mike
m
l
December 28, 2010 7:37:32 PM

If at all possible, install a different graphics card to uninstall the driver, or install the current card in a different slot. That worked with my card when it happened to me. For some reason, the driver only worked in one slot at a time. ^.^
Reinstall an older driver after you uninstall this new one.
m
l
Related resources
December 28, 2010 9:01:29 PM

stingstang said: