Install graphics card

Tags:
  • Radeon
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 29, 2010 9:16:30 AM

Guys

I'm a complete noob. Just bought Sapphire ATI Radeon HD5670 1GB DDR5. I have an Acer Aspire IQ4830 with a generic PSU. Questions:

• Between Corsair
  • 400CX and Coolermaster Extreme Power 500W, which is a better option. Prices are almost the same in India.
    Can I install the above myself? How complicated is it. Can you point me to a website which has a good tutorial. The ones I googled are not very comprehensive.
    Himesh
  • More about : install graphics card

December 29, 2010 11:40:19 AM

As the 500w one is the same price, go for that one so they you can use it longer.
    The swap is extremely easy, assuming there's room in the case for the card. I can't find your computer online, but I'll assume it's a small form factor. Make sure there's plenty of room for the card before you get it.
    Anyway, it's pretty much just taking out what's in there, putting in the new stuff, and turning the system on. Make sure to connect the extra power cable to the graphics card from the new PSU, and install the drivers for the graphics card before you install it. All you'll need is a screwdriver.
    m
    l
    December 29, 2010 12:20:47 PM

Before you remove the old PSU, look at the connections and their locations.

The connectors are all different. You do not mix them up into wrong places.

If your prospective PSU is modular, you have one 24-pin connector (main) and one 8-pin/4-pin connector (cpu) for the motherboard. You have one connector for the gfx card and several connectors for your drives (hard disks and DVD writers). These are usually attached to the PSU. You also have separate power cords. You can use them for a second gfx card, for case lighting, for more hard disks, etc.

That is it.
    m
    l
    Related resources
    December 30, 2010 3:37:59 AM

stingstang said: