Sign in with
Your question

HELP INSTALLING A MSI GTX 460 TALON ATTACK

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 29, 2010 6:32:41 PM

Hello all I'm in the process of assembling my first PC and I'm stuck. The manual, if you can call a piece of paper with a handful of paragraphs a manual, says that I basically make sure the power is not connected, then open the side panel, remove the old GPU if there is one to remove, slot the graphics card into the PCI-e slot, secure, replace side cover and your done. BUT, there are some sockets on the back that I want to check out with you lovely ladies and gents. OK so there are three v-check points on the back, which I assume are only used when attaching some sort of meter. But there are also two power connectors on the back, and I just need to check whether i'm supposed to connect these to the PSU or not. I know it's a stupid question but I have never done this before and can't seem to find a straight answer to this question.
a b Î Nvidia
December 29, 2010 7:41:38 PM

Yes, power connectors on the card need to be hooked up. Card won't run without them. And can actually be damaged if you try to.
a b Î Nvidia
December 29, 2010 7:45:08 PM

MSI GTX 460 Talon Hawk GPU

Those two black 6-pin sockets are the power connectors. If your power supply has two PCI-E 6-pin power connectors plug them in there. Not doing so will prevent your video card (and computer) from functioning. If your power supply does not have these connectors, you may be able to obtain a Molex (straight, 4-pins) to PCI-E adaptor (these sometimes come with video cards).

Related resources
December 29, 2010 10:08:46 PM

Thank you very much. I connected them to the power with the adapers and I did think it was strange I that I'd need them when I already had then PCI-e power connectors. I will connect them directly to the PSU now. :) 
a b Î Nvidia
December 30, 2010 1:12:09 PM