Advice on a gaming PC

HuntyBighead

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2011
Hi guys (sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forum), after learning on these forums that I can't/it's not worth improving my laptop for playing games I have decided to save for a gaming PC.

I would preferably like to find prebuilt computers as I have no knowledge of how to build one myself. I would primarily like to use it for playing MMO's (such as lord of the rings online, guild wars 2, star wars the old republic) and strategy games (shogun 2 total war). I would prefer if I could play these games on max settings with decent FPS because currently I play lord of the rings online on my laptop at roughly 30FPS on very low graphics settings :lol:

As of yet I do not have a definitive budget as I will just save until I reach as much as the computer costs if necessary (although I do not currently have a job (looking) and am at college). Any links or advice would be appreciated, thanks.

let me be the first to encourage you to try to build your own. It's NOT difficult the most complicated tool is a screwdriver) and can save you $200-500 over a prebuilt system.

Budget is the primary concern: You could get a system as low as $600 (when including things like monitor, Operating system, keyboard, mouse, and speakers -- the main tower would be about $350-400) that will play games fairly well, or you can go all out for $2000 or more.

HuntyBighead

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2011
A screwdriver? Luckily I have one of those :p I was more concerned about knowing what power supply would be required, what is compatible with what, etc etc.

As for budget I am currently getting £30 a week (EMA :D) and currently have roughly £60 but I'm handing out CV's in places this weekend so hopefully I will soon be earning more for the computer.

Zenthar

Distinguished