New build help, complete newbie

crossedoutt

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2011
Alright so my laptop broke and I'm tight on money so I want to build a desktop computer from scratch. Hopefully this will come a bit cheaper than buying a new computer. I'll mainly be using the computer for gaming and watching movies, the games I play aren't that intensive as I have vertigo (Maplestory, Black Ops). I want the build to stay near the $500 mark as much as possible.

As always, the cheaper the better, but I don't want to skimp on quality for cheapness. I also have to buy a key board and such though =/.

I asked some friends, and they input some builds for me. I also looked online and saw some builds. Here is where my current build choice stands (I mixed the two builds)

Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC 430W ATX12V V2.2 Intel Core i7 Compliant Dual 80mm Fans Full Cable Sleevings Power Supply $45

PowerColor AX5770 1GBD5-H Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card $120

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler $30

BIOSTAR A880G+ AM3 AMD 880G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard $60

SIIG IC-510012-S2 5.1 Channels PCI Interface SoundWave $30

A-DATA Gaming Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model AX3U1600GB2G9-2G $45

HITACHI HDS721050CLA362 (0F10381) 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive $40

Thermaltake V3 Black Edition VL80001W2Z Black SECC / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case $40

ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM $20

AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision HDZ555WFGMBOX $90

Total: $520~

The main problems are compatibility issues and if I forgot to add something vital. I want to make a fully capable desktop, not one that will not output sound or burn up in 6 months. Also, is my fan neccessary if my CPU contains one already?

Thanks

Solution