Closed

Amd Phenom ii 955 and Asus m4a785-m problems

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Phenom
Last response: in CPUs
June 4, 2011 2:29:53 AM

Hello,

Im sort of a newb at this so I was wondering if anyone could help.

I upgraded my cpu to a AMD Phenom ii 955 but when I do anything that is a heavy load, i.e gaming or downloading and installing a windows update, I get a BSOD error. Sometimes it doesn't even blue screen me, It will just shut down and restart. I've tried updating my bios to the latest and reinstalling windows 7. Both didn't do anything to help. But when I did switch my ram to the dimm a2 and b2 slots, my game did allow me to run for about 30 mins before it blue screened me again. Unfortunately, those screens disappeared on me too quick to catch the error code.

Is there a compatible issue with my set up? I also read somewhere that changing the voltage somewhere in the bios to my ram or changing the speeds might help. But I'm a newb at this and dont know exactly how to do it and dont want to screw anything up. Any help is appreciated!

My current setup is:

Motherboard: Asus M4A785-M
Cpu: AMD Phenom x4 9150e
Ram: 2 x 2g G Skill DDR2 800 PC2-6400 (F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ)
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5670
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 500g
PSU: ThermalTake TR2 500w

It works fine until i try to upgrade my cpu to the Phenom ii 955.

Thanks again

More about : amd phenom 955 asus m4a785 problems

June 4, 2011 4:01:50 AM

Is your bios set to default values??? Sometimes RAM settings tend to incompatible, try fiddling around with them
Score
June 4, 2011 4:10:12 AM

Yup. When I put the Cpu in, I selected load default settings. What RAM settings am I supposed to look for? I don't want to screw anything up to the point it's irreversible.
Score
Related resources
June 4, 2011 4:20:19 AM

Look around in the BIOS and change the RAM settings to manual and check whether the parameter match to that of your RAM. Dont change the voltages, just check the latencies as of now...
Score