ThaiBoy

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2012
Hello TH community,

I was recently given a Dell XPS 8300 as a Xmas/Bday gift from my girl and sister. My Current set up is -

- i7-2600 3.4GHz
- 1TB HD
- 6GB DDR3
- EVGA GTX 570
- Corsair 600watt PSU

I was hoping to get a new case and mobo with my tax return money possible and needed help with a mobo. I dont even really know what to look for as Im relatively new to upgrading PC's and such.

I was possible looking for potential SLI of the 570 or maybe even just upgrade to a better GPU once Kepler comes out through the EVGA trade up program.

What features and I looking for when it come to a mobo and any suggestions from the community? My range is $300-350

I recommend you leave the dell alone, especially if it's still under warranty. It's a very good setup. If you want to continue upgrading, I would sell the dell intact and build your own. But I would take your dell anyday for basic gaming. but if you do replace the dell board anyway, be sure to get another windows coa. Your dell won't run windows when you change to a non dell motherboard.

Unless you purchase either a SB 'K' or the forthcoming Ivy Bridge there's little point of swapping-out your MOBO.

That said, in addition to a new MOBO you'll need to also add to your shopping list a new PSU, and for SLI GTX 570 look at e.g. Corsair Professional Series HX1050 or similar 900W~1000W+ PSU; depending on OC'ing both the CPU & GPU's. Further, an SSD would be a good addition, it makes a considerable impact on system performance.

I often recommend the ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131790