How can I tell if my CPU is going bad?

UncleCat

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
Alright I have a Quad Q6600 2.4ghz processor and the rest of my computer is up to date, I have 8gb 1600 Patriot Ram, GTX460, New HDD(Checked it for bad sectors, all is well) and a new motherboard. When I am using my computer it seems to hang or freeze up in normal activity. Like browsing the web for example, it will just go to "Not responding" for 5-15 secs and then go back, it does this a lot, I checked the processor for errors in Prime95 for 8 hours and it passed fine which makes me believe its not it but what could be causing this if everything is new besides it?

Should this be happing? It almost always happens if say I open up the browser and a folder or music player at the same or a second later. I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus and it idles at 22c and maxes at 39c at 100%. I have CPU-Z but would not know where to check to see if anythings wrong, anything else I can do here? Also I run my games at max with no issue and no freezing which makes this even stranger....

UncleCat

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2011
I Just installed new ram, basically everything is new besides the CPU/Case/DVD/Powersupply. It did the same thing with my old ram even when not maxing it out(checked in task manager).

I checked for viruses and there are none, this started right away again with a new HDD when I just installed Windows 7 again, its 64bit version also.

are you sure your win7 install is clean. if its not legit then that would be my first port of call.
just because you av doesn't find an infection it doesn't mean its not infected.
open task manager and check cpu usage. if something is taking up 100 percent cpu then thats the culprit.
i dont thing you have a bad cpu as the machine would be more likely to bsod, lock up or shut down if that was the problem. same with the ram.

instanthelpdoteu

Distinguished
May 29, 2011