Just got a IPIBL-LB Mobo free CPU Question.

technologic

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2012
So I am a complete noob at building PCs. My buddy just gave me a IPIBL-LB Mobo still in package because he has no use for it and I told him about my recent ambition to start building computers. Instantly I noticed that its pretty old and VERY limited, but my roomate could use a computer to mess around on and maybe play some basic games.

Whats the best Processor I can run in this thing?

How much money would it take with CPU and GPU to make this into a medium-high performing game machine?

Whats the very best I can do with this(performance wise)?

IPIBL-LB from a quick Google search turns up with a G33 socket 775 motherboard.

Assuming this board has the same specs as the one on this site,

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=nz&lc=en&docname=c01324212

The best theoretical processor would be a Core 2 Quad Q9XXX series CPU, which is still quite high up in terms of computing power (a bit less than the first gen Core i5 (750), but still a very decent processor).

Graphic card wise, you can literally stick any modern (as in PCI-E) graphics card and it should work.

In terms of pricing, the problem here is that the LGA 775 platform is probably around 5 years old, that even the newer CPUs that have come out for it (C2Q Q9XXX) are no longer sold, or just expensive relative to other options.

For example the Core 2 Quad Q9550 on newegg costs $299.99, which is 70 dollars more expensive than the Core i5 2500K, a much newer and a faster processor.

That, and the fact that you literally have no upgrade options, would be my main concern for using this motherboard. DDR2 RAM that is used in this board cannot be used in future builds, for example.