Sign in with
Your question
Closed

My experience with HD 6870 and GTX 570

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 31, 2010 7:13:38 PM

This is my first time posting so please go easy on me.

Reference to the cards I used:

Diamond HD 6870:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

EVGA GTX 570:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I just wanted to point out my experience with both cards playing nothing but World of Warcraft.

My system specs:
Motherboard: MSI 890FXA-GD70
Ram: Corsair DDR 3 (4x2GB = 8GB) @ 1333mhz (due to overclock the ram mhz changed but not sure what it currently is since I am not at home)
CPU: AMD 1055T over-clocked from 2.8GHz to 3.5Ghz
CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems Rev B with Scythe Fan blowing to exhaust
Hard Drive 1 (Win7-64 ultimate and WOW): 60GB OCZ Vertex II
Hard Drive 2 (storage): Samsung T3 Spinpoint 1TB
Sound: Onboard - MSI/Realtek
PSU: Thermaltake (forgot model) 600w, modular.

My test was rather easy if not simple. I only play World of Warcraft. I am playing it with the add on string to the execute file for Directx 11 support (to be honest, not sure if it is enabled or not, I cannot really tell the difference but that is a whole other topic) I play in only 1900x1200 with all setting set to max (Ultra) and supersampling to 8x.

So I played in the same zones just at different parts of the day/night. Ran the same dungeons, with the same people. Frame rates lows for both were approx. 45fps. When I would fly around the new zones in Cataclysm, my FPS would normalize (what I normally would see with my 5770) to 60-90 fps. During Dungeons is when I started really feeling the power of both cards, my fps would burst to approx. 160 fps then drop back down to 100-120fps with the 570; however with the 6870 it would burst and hold steadily at approx. 150-180fps.