Sign in with
Your question

HTPC - no sound

Last response: in Systems
March 9, 2011 1:33:11 PM

Hello, I'm a relative novice when it comes to building computers but I decided to take a crack at putting together my own HTPC. The one I put together has a Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2V motherboard with D-Sub and DVI ports for video and 3 audio ports.

I connected it to my Samsung DLP via the HDMI port on the TV with a DVI-HDMI cable. From what I've read, audio will not travel through the a converter cable like this. For the audio, I connected a stereo-to-RCA L/R cable. But, for some reason, I'm not getting any audio from the TV. The video is showing up fine, but there's no sound.

I should mention that my case, an Antec Fusion Remote, had connections for both HD audio and AC97, which are both supported by my Mobo. I connected the HD audio, which my mobo's manual said was the default setting. I'm not sure if that makes a difference.

Any ideas why my audio is not coming in?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

More about : htpc sound

a b B Homebuilt system
March 9, 2011 2:24:43 PM

Quote:
(Note 4) To configure 7.1-channel audio, you have to use an HD front panel audio module and enable the multi-channel audio feature through the audio driver.

This is from the notes section of your motherboard's specification page.

Check in Control Panel --> Hardware and Sound --> Manage Audio Devices and select a different device to see if you can get audio working.

-Wolf sends
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
March 9, 2011 2:52:52 PM

Have you installed the audio drivers?
m
l
Related resources
March 9, 2011 4:39:10 PM

boiler1990 said:
Have you installed the audio drivers?