Upgrade PSU and Graphics Card

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Graphics Cards
  • Components
  • Product
Last response: in Components
June 9, 2011 9:35:12 PM

Ok, all I need is a little help but for some reason, a moderator closed my post saying:
Mousemonkey said:
Don't...
Bump posts
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/283384-33-read-first

How rude ...Im sorry but I dont know what bumping is and I dont see why he couldnt help me with my question. Im a noob, sorry for doing anything wrong but I have no idea what a "bump" is and I just need some help. It took me a long time to write up my thread and research everything and provided you with thorough details. Anyways, heres my original post if someone could please help me!

Ok guys, I had a motherboard fail back in November so I purchased a brand new pc bc the old one was unfortunately part of the cap plague made in 2006. The first problem I have is, the new pc is only a 300watt psu. Ive just realized that the card I bought with it (ATI HD 5450 1gb) requires minimum of 400watts. Why in the world would they give me that option for a card if the psu was underpowered for it?!

Either way, I had bought a OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream Power Supply back in Jan2010 and used it for a few months before the moboard died (pretty sure that helped it run its course on the old pc) but I still have it in perfect condition and pretty much new. I also had the Nvidia 9500GT card 1gb and have been reading the comparisons between the two cards and I think the 9500GT would be better than the 5450..am I correct?

If so, I would like to upgrade my new psu to put the 600watt in it and also put the 9500gt in it. I just want to make sure they are both compatible and will not overwork or throttle anything. I did all the research for what I need to know, I just want to make sure its the right choice for my new computer..below is all the info you need :) 

Here are my computer specs-its the HP Elite HPE-400z customizable Desktop PC