Sign in with
Your question

Oh noes, please help me before I break something else...

Last response: in Systems
March 10, 2011 10:30:28 AM

Hello everyone at THF.

I was a first time builder two years ago.

Intel Core i7 920 CPU
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4 Intel X58 ATX Motherboard
G.Skill F3-10666CL9T-6GBNQ 3 x 2GB DDR3 1333 RAM
BFG GeForce GTX 295 - Video Card
Western Digital WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Corsair 1000HX Modular PSU
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme 1366 RT
AZZA Fantom 900 Black Computer Tower
Windows Vista 64

Everything has run smoothly until recently when I transported my computer to my new house and set it up here. My GTX 295 has started crashing on me out of the blue. I will be web browsing or playing a game or sometimes doing nothing at all and my monitor will shut down and the little green light on the card turns red. The computer sounds like it stays on, but functionality stops, and I have to do a hard shutdown.

I did some reading on the web and people who have had my problem seem to find that it is either a faulty PSU or graphics card. I tried suggestions I read like clean installing the latest drivers, moving my graphics card to another slot on the mobo and lowering the voltage in my bios (though I didn't really know what I was doing there). None of that helped. Evidence seemed to lean towards it being a PSU issue so I went to the store and bought a replacement one to test out, a 1200w Thermaltake Toughpower. Just when I thought I'd solve the problem I went and made things 10x worse... after installing the new PSU my hard drives are no longer being recognized =/