Sign in with
Your question

First Build: Budget with High Performance

Last response: in Systems
March 10, 2011 12:34:05 PM

Hi Everyone,
This is my first build, but I have had a fair bit of experience with older computers (damn you celerons!).
First of all my budget is £250. I want a basic build that I can upgrade a little bit eventually.
I do some part time sw development but nothing really heavy. No gaming or video editing.
I need a base unit that can hopefully boot WinXP in less than 15 seconds (i know a big ask, but lets see how good i can get)
So far this is my list:

£90 core i3 LGA1156 Clarkdale 3.06GHz
£67 ASRock H55M Pro or Gigabyte SKT-1156 GA-H55M-UD2H
£20 2 GB RAM Kingston unbuffered/Crucial (min latency)
£28 Seagate ST3500418AS 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM
£40? Case + PSU
£20 8 GB SSD if I can find one

I want to boot off the SSD for faster loads times. Also lower latency ram as well.
I am hoping to upgrade later on to a Core i5/i7 Lynnfield? Maybe a graphics card. But all that is later on.

Is this even possible...i know i havent left much room in the way of budget...how good a build would this be, and what other missing components are there?

Just saw the form:
Approximate Purchase Date: 2 months

Budget Range: £250 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: multitasking, web, office, eclipse, visual studio

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: please recommend (ebuyer.co.uk?)

Country of Origin: UK

Parts Preferences: none

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1280x1024

Additional Comments: want it to be running cool
March 10, 2011 1:29:57 PM