Sign in with
Your question

Tried to change heatsink. Now my computer boots, but nothing shows on screen

Last response: in Motherboards
February 10, 2012 8:40:38 PM

Hello. I am relatively new to the community. I would say I am still a novice when it comes to computers, but I have learned a lot of the last year or so. (in particular for tom's hardware and overclockers website) I decided it was time to overclock, so I got myself a cm hyper 212+ and also a ocz agility 3 60 gb. I used the alcohol on white puff method to get the old thermal paste off the cpu. I don't think I tightened the back plate too tight or not tight enough... I gave it just enough ommph to be secure.
I will list a number of mistakes looking back that I may have made. After removing the old TIM from the cpu, while sitting on the ground i decided to pick up my cpu and make sure there was no alcohol spilled onto places it shouldnt have. When i picked it up, I may have very lightly rubbed it against the cpu socket ...... Also I am may not have grounded myself correctly before picking up the cpu. However I see no bent pins or anything that I can tell of.

Further, upon plugging back in the powersupply adapter into the psu, I noticed a little static discharge that normaly happens when you plug something into the wall. i forgot switch off the switch on my psu or case before plugging the cord back in. Now when I turn the computer on, everyhthing seems to boot up, but I am getting nothing on the moniter. I began following these steps
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findbysymptom/ht/nothingo...
I switched back the stock fan. This didnt change anything. Now I have taken the motherboard out of the case with only the memory, cpu, and graphics card in and the necessary power suply hookups(don't remember what there called, but the standard 20+4 pin and stuff.) This is what I have noticed: