GPU failing, purple screen of death.

kudohlol

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2011
Hi im relatively new to computers and computer parts etc, i am aware of updating drivers and what the main components of a computer are, im not aware of the latest and greatest what works best with what and what type of products are the best bang for buck because it changes all to often..

Heres my problem!

Recently my harddrive crashed on me and i had 2 replace it, but while i had my previous harddrive i'd often get my screen to cut off of power for like 2-5 seconds randomly while the pc kept running fine and i was playing games or something, then the screen would come back to normal, i also would randomly sometimes get Purple screens of death which look like the same ones a lot of people seem to be having problems with, with my graphics card.. geforce gtx 280. Since ive replaced my harddrive, ive been having the purple screen of death on practically anything regarding video. videos on the net set it off, games set it off.

I wanted 2 know what i can do to fix this, is my Graphics card dead? can it be my Mobo? my graphics card is probly only 2 years old, mobo is 4ish

Yesterday, i had my pc running fine for a good 6 hours straight games video everything, went to bed.. now purple screen of death practically anytime a video is needed 2 be played.

my pc specs are.

Machine name: SHANE-PC
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_gdr.100218-0019)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: HP-Pavilion
System Model: GM441AA-ABA m8125x
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
Memory: 3070MB RAM
Page File: 1189MB used, 5129MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 280
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC