Single Nvidia GTX 285 crash (again)

noblekale90

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2010
I had a previous problem of my video card crashing in some graphic intensive games before.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/305562-33-single-nvidia-crash

I thought the problem was fixed before, because I installed another fan, and cleaned the dust out. But that is not the case. It is back, and worse than before. It's even been crashing in games that normally do not crash for me (Counter-Strike:Source, for example).

I got gpu-z, and ran it while running a game that normally crashes (Sniper: Ghost Warrior).

It crashed, and here is the log. I'm not experienced enough to discern what is the problem, or if it is my graphics card, and not the PSU, that is the root of the problem. Although, the straight 99s in GPU load seem to be a bit odd, as if it is overstressed. When the numbers jump down to the single digits is when I alt-tab back to desktop, checking the temperature.

If the problem is the gpu, then I will definitely try "gpu baking", as one person suggested. And if all else fails, then gtx 460, here I come. Haha.

Thank you all for your time!

Aaron

Edit: NZXT 800-watt PSU
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 920
GTX 285

Also, I guess you can't upload files here. So I will give an overview.

GPU clock
300.9 -
678.9 Mhz

GPU mem clock
100-
1242 Mhz

GPU Shader Clock
601.7-
1476 Mhz

GPU temp
34-67 C

PCB temp
28-45 C

Fan Speed
2500-2600 RPM

Fan speed
40% steady. No change

GPU Load
0-99%
99% almost all the time in-game

Memory controller load
0-25%

Video Engine Load
0% straight

VDDC
1.0500-1.1500 V

I apologize if it's messy.

VGKitov

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2010